WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

2016 REGULAR SESSION

Introduced

House Bill 4632

FISCAL NOTE

By Delegates Manchin, Skinner, Hamilton, Miley

AND P. SMITH

[Introduced February 20, 2016; Referred to the Committee on the Judiciary.]

A BILL to amend and reenact §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to providing a six month term for the four new circuit judges by gubernatorial appointment prior to the beginning of the regular eight year term.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

1

2

3

4

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

That §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia,1931, as amended, be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

ARTICLE 2. CIRCUIT COURTS; CIRCUIT JUDGES.

§51-2-1. Judicial circuits; terms of office; legislative findings and declarations; elections; terms of court.

- 1 (a) The state shall be divided into the following judicial circuits with the following number of judges:
 - (1) The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall constitute the first circuit and shall have four judges;
- (2) The counties of Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel shall constitute the second circuit and shall
 have two judges;
 - (3) The counties of Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie shall constitute the third circuit and shall have one judge;
 - (4) The counties of Wood and Wirt shall constitute the fourth circuit and shall have three judges;
 - (5) The counties of Calhoun, Jackson, Mason and Roane shall constitute the fifth circuit and shall have two judges: *Provided,* That effective January 1, 2017 July 1, 2016, said circuit court shall have three judges; said additional circuit judge to be elected at the regularly scheduled election(s) to be held in the year 2016 for a term beginning January 1, 2017, and every eighth year thereafter: *Provided, however,* That the Governor shall appoint a judge to serve from July 1, 2016, through December 30, 2016.
 - (6) The county of Cabell shall constitute the sixth circuit and shall have four judges;

18 (7) The county of Logan shall constitute the seventh circuit and shall have two judges: 19 (8) The county of McDowell shall constitute the eighth circuit and shall have two judges; 20 (9) The county of Mercer shall constitute the ninth circuit and shall have three judges; 21 (10) The county of Raleigh shall constitute the tenth circuit and shall have three judges: Provided, That effective January 1, 2017 July 1, 2016, said circuit court shall have four judges; 22 23 said additional circuit judge to be elected at the regularly scheduled election(s) to be held in the 24 year 2016 for a term beginning January 1, 2017, and every eighth year thereafter: Provided, 25 however, That the Governor shall appoint a judge to serve from July 1, 2016, through December 26 30, 2016. 27 (11) The counties of Greenbrier and Pocahontas shall constitute the eleventh circuit and 28 shall have two judges; 29 (12) The county of Fayette shall constitute the twelfth circuit and shall have two judges; 30 (13) The county of Kanawha shall constitute the thirteenth circuit and shall have seven 31 judges; 32 (14) The counties of Braxton, Clay, Gilmer and Webster shall constitute the fourteenth 33 circuit and shall have two judges: (15) The county of Harrison shall constitute the fifteenth circuit and shall have three judges; 34 35 (16) The county of Marion shall constitute the sixteenth circuit and shall have two judges; 36 (17) The county of Monongalia shall constitute the seventeenth circuit and shall have three 37 judges; 38 (18) The county of Preston shall constitute the eighteenth circuit and shall have one judge: 39 (19) The counties of Barbour and Taylor shall constitute the nineteenth circuit and shall 40 have one judge; 41 (20) The county of Randolph shall constitute the twentieth circuit and shall have one judge; 42 (21) The counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall constitute the twenty-first circuit and 43 shall have two judges;

44 (22) The counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pendleton shall constitute the twenty-second circuit and shall have two judges; 45 (23) The counties of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan shall constitute the twenty-third 46 47 circuit and shall have five judges: Provided, That effective January 1, 2017 July 1, 2016, said 48 circuit court shall have six judges; said additional circuit judge to be elected at the regularly 49 scheduled election(s) to be held in the year 2016 for a term beginning January 1, 2017, and every 50 eighth year thereafter: <u>Provided, however, That the Governor shall appoint a judge to serve from</u> 51 July 1, 2016 through December 30, 2016. 52 (24) The county of Wayne shall constitute the twenty-fourth circuit and shall have two 53 judges; 54 (25) The counties of Lincoln and Boone shall constitute the twenty-fifth circuit and shall 55 have two judges; 56 (26) The counties of Lewis and Upshur shall constitute the twenty-sixth circuit and shall 57 have one judge: Provided, That effective January 1, 2017 July 1, 2016, said circuit court shall 58 have two judges; said additional circuit judge to be elected at the regularly scheduled election(s) 59 to be held in the year 2016 for a term beginning January 1, 2017, and every eighth year thereafter: Provided, however, That the Governor shall appoint a judge to serve from July 1, 2016 through 60 61 December 30, 2016. 62 (27) The county of Wyoming shall constitute the twenty-seventh circuit and shall have one 63 judge; 64 (28) The county of Nicholas shall constitute the twenty-eighth circuit and shall have one judge; 65 (29) The county of Putnam shall constitute the twenty-ninth circuit and shall have two 66 67 judges; 68 (30) The county of Mingo shall constitute the thirtieth circuit and shall have one judge; and

(31) The counties of Monroe and Summers shall constitute the thirty-first circuit and shall

69

have one judge.

(b) The Kanawha County circuit court shall be a court of concurrent jurisdiction with each single judge circuit where the sitting judge in the single judge circuit is unavailable by reason of sickness, vacation or other reason.

- (c) Any judge in office on the effective date of the reenactment of this section shall continue as a judge of the circuit as constituted under prior enactments of this section, unless sooner removed or retired as provided by law, until December 31, 2016.
- (d) The term of office of all circuit court judges shall be for eight years. The term of office for all circuit court judges elected during an election conducted in the year 2016 shall commence on January 1, 2017, and end on December 31, 2024.
- (e) For election purposes, in every judicial circuit having two or more judges there shall be numbered divisions corresponding to the number of circuit judges in each circuit. Each judge shall be elected at large from the entire circuit. In each numbered division of a judicial circuit, the candidates for nomination or election shall be voted upon and the votes cast for the candidates in each division shall be tallied separately from the votes cast for candidates in other numbered divisions within the circuit. The candidate receiving the highest number of the votes cast within a numbered division shall be nominated or elected, as the case may be.
- (f) Judges serving a judicial circuit comprised of four or more counties with two or more judges shall not be residents of the same county.
- (g) The Supreme Court of Appeals shall, by rule, establish the terms of court of circuit judges.

NOTE: The purpose of this bill is to provide a six month term for the four new circuit judges by gubernatorial appointed prior to the beginning of the regular eight year term.

Strike-throughs indicate language that would be stricken from a heading or the present law, and underscoring indicates new language that would be added.